Skip to content

Billing & Plans#

For more information on your Lens Spaces’ (“Spaces”) current plan go to “Billing & Plans” in your Lens Space Settings. A “Space” is an environment for one or more Lens Spaces users to organize, access, and share cloud-native resources. Billing information is associated with a Space. You can see pricing and a full list of available features and services for each plan.

Billing & Plans

Only Spaces users with the owner role can access or change billing settings. You can upgrade or downgrade your subscription at any time. When you upgrade the subscription for your Space, changes are applied immediately. In order to downgrade your subscription Plan, you must meet the requirements of the downgraded Plan. For example, in order to move from Team to Free you must have only 3 Teams, 3 Clusters, and email domains will not be available. A “Cluster” is a Kubernetes cluster that is shared via Lens Spaces and uses Cluster Connect to secure connections between users and clusters. “Cluster Connect“ is a system that uses end-to-end encryption to secure connections between users and clusters, eliminating the need for a VPN.

Fair Billing Policy#

Team Lens wants you to invite and collaborate with as many people as possible without worrying about paying for unused subscriptions. With Lens Spaces, you are only billed for what you use, so you don’t pay for the Members who aren’t actively using Spaces.

How you're billed for Active Members#

A Member of a Space is a user who has been invited and accepted to that Space. You can view a list of members in a Space by logging in, selecting a Space, and then navigating to Space Settings > User Management > Members.

Members

When you purchase a paid plan, the upgrade will apply to your entire Space starting on the purchase date and you’ll be billed for Active Members on a monthly basis as follows.

  • Active Members are billed $0.0125 per hour ($9 per month if active the entire month) for a minimum of 7 days. After 7 days of inactivity the Member will become inactive and will no longer be billable as an Active Member.

  • An “Active Member” is a Member who has had Spaces activity within the last 7 days such as accessing items in that Space’s Catalog. A “Catalog” is a system that provides management of all resources registered within Lens Spaces.

  • When an inactive Member starts using Spaces again they will become an Active Member and will be billable for at least the following 7 day period.

  • Active Members will be billed to you for the 7 days following the last time the Member had Spaces activity such as accessing items in your Space’s Catalog.

  • The number of Active Members in your Space will be reflected in your invoice.

Here are a few examples:

  • If you add a new Member to your Space by inviting them to share a Cluster. When they login to their Spaces account and accept the invitation they become a Member of your Space. When they access an item in your Space’s Catalog such as a shared Cluster we will bill you at $0.0125 per hour for 7 days for that Active Member. You will be billed for 7 days x 24 hours x $0.0125 = $2.10.
  • If a new Member to your Space continues to access the Cluster at least once every 7 days you will be billed for the period ending 7 days after that Member last had Spaces activity. Specifically, if a Member accesses items in your Space’s Catalog on January 4, 2021 and multiple times every week with the last time on February 1, 2021 you will be billed for 35 days x 24 hours x $0.0125 = $10.50 for this Active Member.

When you'll see credit card charges#

When you start your paid subscription for Lens Spaces your credit card will not be charged until the end of the month. You'll see credit card charges for Active Members at the end of each month.